Toma winners

Steve Bush, CSFM, CFB 

Bush Sports Turf

(awarded posthumously)

2021 George Toma "Golden Rake" Award Winner

Steve Bush is a Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM), a certified professional in erosion control, and an agronomist, but more importantly, Steve has more than 20 years of experience in the turfgrass industry. Bush Turf is recognized by the Sports Turf Managers Association, the Iowa Sports Turf Managers Association, the Illinois Sports Turf Managers Association, the United States Golf Association, and the International Erosion Control Association.

Steve and Bush Turf have won multiple awards over the years, including the Golden Cleat Award from the Iowa Sports Turf Managers Association, and both State and National Field of the Year awards.

In addition, Steve educates others on their expertise, keeping readers up on the industry by contributing feature articles to trade magazines and other national publications. His hard work and dedication have won him the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sports Turf Industry. 

Previous George Toma "Golden Rake" Award Recipients

Year Award Winner
2020 Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Iowa State
2019 Kim Heck, CAE, Sports Turf Managers Association
2018 Abby McNeal, CSFM, CPRP, Denver City and County Parks Department (CO)
2017 Dan Bergstrom, CSFM, BBVA Compass Stadium
2016 Bruce Suddeth, University of South Carolina Upstate (SC)
2015 Ben Polimer, Town of Weston (MA)
2014 Mike Albino, Ballard Sports, Syracuse (NY)
2013 Matt Tobin, Pioneer Athletics, Saco (ME)
2012 Michael Boettcher, Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club, Milwaukee (WI)
2011 Tom Nielsen, Louisville Bats Baseball Club, Louisville (KY)
2010 Mel Lanford, Retired from University of Texas, Austin (TX)
2009 Craig Potts, Texas A&M University, College Station (TX)
2008 David Reiss, Wasatch County School District, Heber City (UT)
2007 Tony Diaz, Waukegan Park District (IL)
2006 Todd Jeansonne, Louisiana State University and Jeff Kershaw, West Baton Rouge Parrish School
2005 Jim Wiggins, Tomball ISD, Tomball (TX)
2004 Kevin Meredith, National Soccer Hall of Fame (NY)
2003 James Crawford, McFarland Schools (WI)
2002 Jesse Cuevas, Rosenblatt Stadium (NE)
2001 Terry Nance, Cape Fear High School (NC)
2000 Connie Rudolph, CSFM, Midway Stadium (MN)
1999 Boyd (Rob) Montgomery, Sylvania Recreation (OH)
1998 Don Kelly, City of Rocky River (OH)
1997 Timothy Burke, Town of Bethel (CT)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing