Gill Winners

2023 Harry C. Gill Founders Award

David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, CPWP-M
Town of Lexington DPW

Dave is a dedicated SFMA member and has attained the designation of CSFM. In addition to the CSFM designation, he has also earned his CPRP and CPWP-M. He is a consummate professional in every way and the association greatly benefited from his leadership skills during a very positive tenure as SFMA President.

Dave has long been committed to the sports field industry at the national and chapter levels. He has been active on committees for both NESTMA and SFMA and served as a board officer of each association; ultimately being elected as President for both NESTMA and SFMA. He has been a problem solver throughout his career and was instrumental in the development of the formal relationship between SFMA chapters and SFMA national.

Dave always promotes SFMA and industry professionalism to sports field managers at the local, regional and national level, particularly when he attends other allied green industry conferences such as NRPA. He has been an invited presenter at both the national SFMA conference and at the regional New England Regional Turf Conference. He advocates for professionalism in the industry at every opportunity.

Previous Harry C. Gill Founders Award Recipients

YearAward Winner
2023David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, CPWP-M, Town of Lexington DPW
2022Chad Price, CSFM, CFB, Carolina Green Corp.
2021Doug Schattinger, Pioneer Athletics (OH)
2020Abby McNeal, CSFM City and County of Denver Parks
2019Troy Smith, CSFM Ewing Irrigation
2018Jeff Fowler, Penn State University Senior Extension (PA)
2017Tim Moore, GCA Services
2016Darian Daily (awarded posthumously), Cincinnati Bengals (OH)
2015Michael Goatley, Ph.D., Virginia Tech University (VA)
2014Andrew McNitt, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University (PA)
2013Bucky Trotter, Sports Facilities Insights (KY)
2012Richard Moffitt, Moffitt & Associates (MO)
2011Mike Andresen, CSFM, Iowa State University (IA)
2010Leo Goertz, Texas A&M University (TX) (deceased)
2009Tom Burns, Diamond Pro/TXI (TX)
2008Bob Campbell, CSFM, University of Tennessee (TN)
2007Bob Curry, Covermaster, Inc. (Ontario, Canada)
2006Boyd R. Montgomery, CSFM, The Toro Company (MN)
2005Bob Christofferson, Seattle Mariners, (WA)
2004Lynda Wightman, Hunter Industries (CT)
2003Ken Mrock, Chicago Bears Football Club (IL)
2002Ross Kurcab, CSFM, Invesco Field at Mile High (CO)
2001Dan Douglas, Reading Phillies (PA)
2000Mary Owen, University of Massachusetts – Extension (MA)
1999*Dale Getz, University of Notre Dame (IN)
1998John Souter, Turfgrass Consultant, Perthshire, Scotland
1997*Eugene Mayer, The Scotts Company
1996Greg Petry, Waukegan Park District (IL)
1995Gil Landry, Ph.D., University of Georgia (GA)
1994Henry Indyk, Ph.D., (deceased), Turfcon (NJ)
1993*Mike Schiller, Schaumburg Park District (IL)
1992George Toma, Kansas City Royals & NFL (MO)
1991James Watson, Ph.D., The Toro Company (CO)
1990*David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH)
1989*David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH)
1987*Mark Hodnick, Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1986Kent W. Kurtz, Ph.D., (deceased) Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1985Anthony Burnett, RFK Stadium (DC)
1984*Steve Wightman, Mile High Stadium (CO)
1983William H. Daniel Ph.D., (deceased) Purdue University (IN)
1982Harry C. Gill, (deceased), Milwaukee County Stadium (WI)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing