Ericson winners

2019 Ericson Recipient

Allen Johnson, CSFM
Green Bay Packers

Allen is described as one of the most competent sports field managers in the industry. He uses creative practices that don’t usually work in a tundra climate, and his work is often on display on national television. Noted as a consummate problem-solver, he is also humble in his interactions with everyone, a trait that was so evident in founder Dick Ericson. He emerged as a leader in STMA, serving on its national board of directors. He is highly regarded by his sports governing body — helping to design and implement procedures to reduce injuries. Because of his involvement, the NFL now recognizes the sports field manager as a professional.

Previous Dick Ericson Award Recipients

Year Previous Award Recipients
2018 Nicole Sherry, Baltimore Orioles, Baltimore (MD)
2017 Paul Burgess, Real Madrid and Estadio Santiago Bernabeu
2016 Tom Nielsen, Louisville Bats Baseball Club, Louisville (KY)
2015 Michael Buras, CSFM, Longwood Cricket Club, Chestnut Hill (MA)
2014 Tony Leonard, Philadelphia Eagles (PA)
2013 Rich Watson, Pine Hill Schools, Sewell (NJ)
2012 Amy Fouty, CSFM, Michigan State University Intercollegiate Athletics, East Lansing (MI)
2011 Darian Daily, Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati (OH)
2010 Mike Trigg, CSFM, Waukegan Park District, Waukegan (IL)
2009 David Rulli, Jeffco Stadium, Lakewood (CO)
2008 Mike Tarantino, Poway Unified School District, Poway (CA)
2007 Donald Fowler, PSU Extension (Retired) (PA)
2006 Mike McDonald, CSFM, Turf Manager, University of Minnesota (MN)
2005 Floyd Perry, Owner, Grounds Maintenance Services, Orlando (FL)
2004 Steve LeGros, GCA Service at the University of New Hampshire (NH)
2003 Pat White, City of Hollywood (FL)
2002 Eric Adkins, CSFM, Michigan State University (MI)
2001 Heather Nabozny, Detroit Tigers (MI)
2000 By Hanson, Jefferson County Public Schools (CO)
1999 G.C. (George) Trivett, Granite Falls Middle School (NC)
1998 Ross Kurcab, Denver Broncos (CO)
1997 Merton Johnson, Cal State/Fullerton (CA)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing