Daniel winners

2017 Daniel Recipient

James Brosnan, Ph.D.
University of Tennessee

Speaking to the mentoring capacity of Dr. Brosnan, three Ph.D. students who studied under him are now faculty members at land-grant universities specializing in turfgrass. He has authored many peer-reviewed journal articles, frequently contributes to SportsTurf magazine, and annually speaks at the STMA conference. As an Associate Professor with an appointment in turfgrass weed science, his research and extension activities span all turfgrass specialties, but a significant portion of his efforts focus on athletic field research. He has completed multiple projects to quantify the effects of weed infestations on playability, and he works proactively to educate athletic field managers on the importance of herbicide rotations. He developed the Mobile Weed Manual, a free application for mobile devices.

Dr. William H. Daniel Award Winners

Year Award Winner
2016 Jason Kruse, Ph.D., University of Florida (KY)
2015 Mary Owens, University of Massachusetts (MA)
2014 Brian Scott, Mt. San Antonio College, Walnut (CA)
2013 Dr. Brad Fresenburg, University of Missouri-Columbia (MO)
2012 Dr. Beth Guertal, Auburn University (AL)
2011 Dr. Leah Brilman, Seed Research of Oregon (OR)
2010 John Sorochan, Ph.D., University of Tennessee (TN)
2009 Tony Koski, Ph.D., Colorado State University (CO)
2008 Grady Miller, Ph.D., North Carolina State University (NC)
2007 Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D., Turfgrass Specialist, Virginia Tech University (VA)
2006 James McAfee, Ph.D., Extension Turfgrass Specialist, Texas A&M (TX)
2005 Jeff Fowler, Penn State Cooperative Extension (PA)
2004 A.J. Powell, Jr., Ph.D., University of Kentucky (KY)
2003 Pam Sherratt, Ohio State University (OH)
2002 Eric Adkins, CSFM, Michigan State University (MI)
2001 Coleman Ward, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, Auburn University (AL)
2000 Andrew McNitt, Ph.D., Penn State University (PA)
1999 Donald Waddington, Ph.D., Penn State University (PA)
1998 Steve Cockerham, University of California/Riverside (CA)
1997 James Beard, Ph.D., International Sports Turf Institute (TX)
1996 Kent Kurtz, Ph.D., (deceased) Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1994 Dave Minner, Ph.D., Iowa State University (IA)
1993 John N. “Trey” Rogers, III, Ph.D., Michigan State University (MI)
1992 Henry Wilkinson, Ph.D., University of Illinois (IL)
1991 Steve Cockerham, University of California/Riverside (CA)

(Note: The William H. Daniel Award was known as the Excellence in Research Award prior to 1997.)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Roster for current listing