University Turf Sites & Turfgrass Faculty

This list of links is maintained by STMA Headquarters, please notify us of any changes. Thanks! 

Alabama 
Auburn University Turfgrass Management 
Beth Guertal - 334- 844-3999 - guertea@auburn.edu
Scott McElroy - 334-844-3992 - jsm0010@auburn.edu
David Han - 334-844-3980 - handavi@auburn.edu
David Held - 334-844-3818 - dwh0004@auburn.edu
Harold Walker - 334-844-3994 - walkerh@auburn.edu
Jim Jacobi - 205-879-6964 ext. 19 - jacobjc@auburn.edu

Arizona

University of Arizona Turfgrass Research, Education, and Extension

Jeffrey Gilbert - jgilbert@cals.arizona.edu
David Kopec - 520-318-7142 - dkopec@ag.arizona.edu
Mohammad Pessarakli
Kai Umeda - 602-827-8200 - kumeda@cals.arizona.edu

Arkansas

University of Arkansas Turfgrass Science

Dr. Douglas Karcher - 479-575-5723 - karcher@uark.edu
Dr. Mike Richardson - 479-575-2860 - mricha@uark.edu
Dr. John Boyd - 501-671-2224 - jwb019@uark.edu
Dr. Jim Robbins - 501-671-2307 - jrobbins@uaex.edu
Dr. Gene Milus - 479-575-2676 - gmilus@uark.edu
Dr. Don Steinkraus - 479-575-3187 -- steinkr@uark.edu
 
California

University of California — Riverside Turfgrass Research Facility


Colorado

Colorado State University Turfgrass

Dr. Tony Koski - tony.koski@colostate.edu
Dr. Yaling Qian - yaling.qian@colostate.edu
Dr. Ned Tisserat - ned.tisserat@colostate.edu
Dr. Harrison Hughes - harrison.hughes@lcolostate.edu
Dr. Whitney Cranshaw - whitney.cranshaw@colostate.edu
Sarah Wilhelm - sarah.j.wilhelm@colostate.edu
Dana Christensen - dana.christensen@colostate.edu

Connecticut

University of Connecticut Turfgrass Science

Dr. Carol Auer - (860) 486-1878 - carol.auer@uconn.edu
Dr. Karl Guillard - (860) 486-6309 - karl.guillard@uconn.edu
Dr. Jason Henderson - (860) 486-0189 - jason.henderson@uconn.edu
Dr. John Inguagiato - (860) 486-0162 - john.inguagiato@uconn.edu
Dr. Ana Legrand - (860) 486-0869 - ana.legrand@uconn.edu
Dr. Thomas Morris - (860) 486-0637 - thomas.morris@uconn.edu
Steven Rackliffe - (860) 486-1944 - steven.rackliffe@uconn.edu
Victoria Wallace - (860) 885-2826 - victoria.wallace@uconn.edu

Florida

University of Florida Turfgrass Science

Barry Brecke - (850) 995-3720 xt 106 - bjbe@ifas.ufl.edu
Phil Busey - (954) 577-6337 - turf@ufl.edu
Eileen Buss - (352) 273-3976 - eabuss@ufl.edu
John Cisar - (954) 577-6336 - jlci@ufl.edu
Ronald Cherry - (561) 993-1529 -  rhcherry@ifas.ufl.edu
William Crow - (352) 273-3941 - wtcr@ufl.edu
Michael Dukes - (352) 392-1864 ext 205 - mddukes@ufl.edu
Jason Kruse - (352) 392-1831 ext 261 - jkk@ufl.edu
J. Howard Frank - (352) 273-3922 - JHF@ifas.ufl.edu
Robin Giblin-Davis - (954) 577-6333 - giblin@ufl.edu
Phil Harmon - (352) 273-4622 - pfharmon@ufl.edu
Kevin Kenworthy - (352) 392-1831 xt 201 - kkenworthy@ifas.ufl.edu
Russell Nagata - (561) 993-1557 - breeder@ufl.edu
Jerry Sartain - (352) 392-7271 - sartain@ufl.edu
Laurie Trenholm - (352) 392-1831 xt 374 - letr@ufl.edu

J. Bryan Unruh - (850) 995-3720 xt 108 - jbu@ufl.edu


Georgia

University of Georgia Turf

Keith Karnok -  (706) 542-0931 - Kkarnok@uga.edu
Elizabeth Little -  (706) 542-4774 - elittle@uga.edu
Andrew Paterson -  (706) 583-0162 - paterson@uga.edu
Kris Braman - (770) 228-7236 - kbraman@griffin.uga.edu
Lee Burpee - (770) 412-4010 lburpee@griffin.uga.edu
Bob Carrow - (770) 228-7331-  rcarrow@uga.edu
Gil Landry -  (770) 233-6108 - glandry@uga.edu
Alfredo Martinez -  (770) 228-7375 amartine@uga.edu
Patrick McCullough -  (770) 228-7300 - pmccull@uga.edu
Zhenbang Chen -  (770) 228-7277 - zchen@uga.edu
Tim Murphy -  (770) 228-7300 - tmurphy@uga.edu
Wojciech Florkowski -  (770) 228-7231 - wflorko@uga.edu
Paul Raymer -  (770) 228-7234 - praymer@griffin.uga.edu
Melanie Harrison-Dunn - (770) 412-4097 - mharrison-dunn@ars-grin.gov
Clint Waltz - (770) 228-7300 - cwaltz@uga.edu
Qinggui (Jack) Huang -  (770) 229-3302 - qhuang@uga.edu
Sheryl Wells -  (770)229-3214 - sherylw@uga.edu
Wayne Hanna -  (229) 386-3177 - whanna@tifton.uga.edu
Kerry Harrison - (229) 386-3442 -  kharriso@uga.edu
Will Hudson - (229) 386-3424 - wghudson@uga.edu
Brian Schwartz - (229) 386-3272 tifturf@uga.edu

Illinois

University of Illinois Turfgrass Program
Bruce Branham - (217) 333-7848 - bbranham@illinois.edu
Thomas Voigt - (217) 333-7847 - tvoigt@illinois.edu


Southern Illinois University Carbondale Turf Management Research

Ken Diesburg - 618-453-1787 - diesburg@siu.edu

Indiana

Purdue University Turfgrass Program

Cale Bigelow - cbigelo1@purdue.edu
Glenn Hardebeck - ghardebe@purdue.edu
Yiwei Jiang - yjiang@purdue.edu
Rick Latin (pathology) - rlatin@purdue.edu
Aaron Patton - ajpatton@purdue.edu
Doug Richmond (entomology) - drichmond@purdue.edu

Iowa

Iowa State University Turfgrass Central

Nick Christians - 515-294-0036 - nchris@iastate.edu
Shui-zhang Fei - 515-294-5119 - sfei@iastate.edu
David Minner - 515-294-5726 - dminner@iastate.edu

Kansas

Kansas State University Turfgrass Information Pages

Dr. Dale Bremer - (785)532-1429 - bremer@ksu.edu
Dr. Jack Fry - (785) 532-1430 - jfry@ksu.edu
Dr. Steve Keeley - (785) 532-1428 - skeeley@ksu.edu
Dr. Rodney St. John - (913)856-2335 Ext 112 - rstjohn@ksu.edu
Dr. Megan Kennelly - (785)532-1387 - kennelly@ksu.edu
Dr. Steve Starret - (785)532-1583 - steveks@ksu.edu
Dr. Ray Cloyd - (785)532-4750 - rcloyd@ksu.edu

Kentucky 
University of Kentucky Turf
Dr. David Williams - (859) 257-2715 - david.williams@uky.edu
Dr. Gregg Munshaw - (859) 257-5606 - gcmunshaw@uky.edu
Dr. Daniel Potter - 859-257-7450 - dapotter@uky.edu
Dr. Paul Vincelli - 859-218-0722 - pvincell@uky.edu

Louisiana

Louisiana State University Turfgrass


Maryland

University of Maryland Turf Online

Dr. Mark Carroll - mcarroll@umd.edu
Dr. Peter Dernoeden - pd@umd.edu
Dr. J. Kevin Mathias - jmk@umd.edu
Dr. Paula Shrewsbury - pshrewsbury@umd.edu
Dr. Tom Turner - tturner@umd.edu

Massachusetts

University of Massachusetts Turf Program

Dr. Prasanta Bhowmik - (413) 545-5223 - pbhowmik@pssci.umass.edu

Dr. Michelle DaCosta - (413) 545-2547 -mdacosta@psis.umass.edu

M. Bess Dicklow - (413) 545-3209 -mbdicklo@umext.umass.edu

Dr. J. Scott Ebdon - (413) 545-2506 -sebdon@pssci.umass.edu

Dr. Geunhwa Jung - (413) 545-2243 -jung@psis.umass.edu

Jason Lanier - (413) 545-2965 -jdlanier@umext.umass.edu

Mary Owen - (508) 892-0382 -mowen@umext.umass.edu

Randall Prostak - (413) 577-1738 -rprostak@umext.umass.edu

Dr. Patricia Vittum - (413) 545-0268 -pvittum@ent.umass.edu

Dr. Robert Wick - (413) 545-1045 - rwick@pltpath.umass.edu


Michigan

Michigan State University Turfgrass Science

Dr. Jim Crum - crum@msu.edu
Dr. Kevin Frank - frankk@msu.edu

Dr. David Gilstrap - gilstrap@msu.edu
Mr. Yusong Mu - ymu@msu.edu
Dr. Thomas Nikolai - nikolait@msu.edu
Dr. John "Trey" Rogers III - rogersj@msu.edu
Dr. David Smitley - smitley@msu.edu
Dr. Joseph Vargas, Jr. - vargas@msu.edu

Minnesota

University of Minnesota Turfgrass Science

Nancy Ehlke - (612) 625-1791 - nancy@umn.edu
Brian Horgan - (612) 624-0782 - bphorgan@umn.edu
Mary Meyer - (952) 443-1447 - meyer023@umn.edu
Eric Watkins - (612) 624-7496 - ewatkins@umn.edu

University of Minnesota Crookston Golf and Turf Management

Kristie Walker - 218-281-8116 - kswalker@umn.edu

Mississippi

Mississippi State University Turfgrass

Mississippi State University Golf and Sports Turf Management Program


Missouri

University of Missouri Turfgrass Science

Xi Xiong - 573-882-1824 - xiongx@missouri.edu
Lee Miller - 573-882-5623 -
 TurfPath@missouri.edu

Brad Fresenburg - 573-884-8785 - FresenburgB@missouri.edu

Daniel Earlywine - 573-823-1299 - EarlywineD@missouri.edu

Dan Lloyd - 573-442-4893 - LloydDT@missouri.edu


Nebraska

University of Nebraska Turfgrass

Keenan Amundsen - 402-472-8390 - kamundsen2@unl.edu
Fred Baxendale - 402-472-8699 - fbaxendale1@unl.edu
Rock Gaussoin - 402-472-1547 - rgaussoin1@unl.edu
Loren Giesler - 402-472-2559 - lgiesler1@unl.edu
Zac Reicher - 402-472-2834 - zreicher2@unl.edu
Lowell Sandell - 402-472-1527 - lsandell2@unl.edu
Amy Timmerman - 402-472-2559 - aziems2@unl.edu

New Hampshire

University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension — Landscape, Nursery and Turf


New Mexico

New Mexico State University Turfgrass Research, Extension and Education

Dr. Bernhard Leinauer - 575-646-2546 - leinauer@nmsu.edu
Dr. Ryan Goss - 575-646-3297 - ryangoss@nmsu.edu

New Jersey

Rutgers Center for Turfgrass Science
Faith Belanger - 848-932-6389 - belanger@aesop.rutgers.edu
Stacy Bonos - 848-932-6367 - bonos@aesop.rutgers.edu

Bruce Clarke - 848-932-6295 - clarke@aesop.rutgers.edu
C. Reed Funk - 732-932-9480
Randy Gaugler - 732-932-9459 - gaugler@rci.rutgers.edu

Thomas Gianfagna - 848-932-6369 - gianfagna@aesop.rutgers.edu
John Grande - 908-730-9419, Ext. 11 - grande@aesop.rutgers.edu
Stephen Hart - 848-932-6325 - hart@aesop.rutgers.edu
Joseph Heckman - 848-932-6333 - heckman@aesop.rutgers.edu
Bingru Huang - 848-932-6390 - huang@aesop.rutgers.edu
Richard Hurley
Albrecht Koppenhofer - 732-932-9802 - koppenhofer@aesop.rutgers.edu

William Meyer - 848-932-6222 - wmeyer@aesop.rutgers.edu
James Murphy - 848-932-6326 - murphy@aesop.rutgers.edu
Brad Park - 848-932-6327 - park@aesop.rutgers.edu

Rutgers Professional Golf Turf Management School

Rutgers Office of Continuing Professional Education - Landscaping


New York

Cornell Turfgrass
Dr. Frank Rossi - 607-255-1629 - fsr3@cornell.edu
Jennifer Grant - 315.787.2209 - jag7@cornell.edu
Dr. Jenny Kao-Kniffin - 607-255-8886 - jtk57@cornell.edu 
Dr. Anthony Martin Petrovic - 607/255-1796 - 

SUNY Cobleskill 

North Carolina

North Carolina State University TurfFiles

Scott Brinton - (919) 515-2661 - scott_brinton@ncsu.edu

Art Bruneau - art_bruneau@ncsu.edu
Lee Butler - 919-513-3878 - lee_butler@ncsu.edu
Rich Cooper - 515-7600 - rich_cooper@ncsu.edu
Bob Erickson - bob_erickson@ncsu.edu
Matt Martin - 910-675-2314 - matthew_martin@ncsu.edu
Susana Milla-Lewis - susana_milla-lewis@ncsu.edu
Grady Miller - (919) 515-5656 - grady_miller@ncsu.edu
Casey Reynolds - casey_reynolds@ncsu.edu
Michael Soika - mike_soika@ncsu.edu

North Dakota

North Dakota State University Turfgrass Science and Management

Dr. Richard Horsley -  (701) 231-7971 - Louise.Heinz@ndsu.edu

Ohio

The Ohio State University Buckeye Turf

Dr. Karl Danneberger - 614.292.8491
Dr. David Gardner - 614.292.9002
Dr. Parwinder Grewal - 330.263.3963
Dr. Ed McCoy - 330.263.3884
Dr. David Shetlar - 614.292.3762
Dr. John Street - 614.292.9091

Oklahoma

Oklahoma State University Turfgrass Program

Dr. Gregory Bell - 405-744-6424 - greg.bell@okstate.edu

David Gerken - 405-945-3352 - gerkend@osuokc.edu

Dr. Dennis Martin - 405-744-5419 - dennis.martin@okstate.edu

Dr. Justin Moss - 405-744-5729 - mossjq@okstate.edu
Dr. Eric Rebek - eric.rebek@okstate.edu
Dr. Tom Royer - tom.royer@okstate.edu
Dr. Jim Shrefler - (580) 889-7343 - jshrefler-okstate@lane-ag.org
Dr. Damon Smith - damon.smith@okstate.edu
Dr. Nathan Walker - nathan.walker@okstate.edu
Dr. Yanqi Wu - 405-744-9627 - yanqi.wu@okstate.edu

Oregon

Oregon State University Turfgrass Management

Dr. Rob Golembiewski - 541-737-5449 - golembir@hort.oregonstate.edu

Brian McDonald - blanketo@onid.orst.edu

Pennsylvania

Penn State University Turfgrass Management
Jeff Borger - 814-865-3005 - jab267@psu.edu
Dr. Michael Fidanza - 610-396-6330 - maf100@psu.edu
Dr. David Huff - 814-863-9805 - drh15@psu.edu
Dr. John Kaminski - 814-865-3007 - kaminski@psu.edu
Dr. Peter Landschoot - 814-863-1017 - pjl1@psu.edu
Dr. Andrew McNitt - 814-863-1368 - asm4@psu.edu
Dr. Max Schlossberg - 814-863-1015 - mjs38@psu.edu
Dr. Al Turgeon - at2@psu.edu
Dr. Wakar Uddin - 814-863-4498 - wxu2@psu.edu
Dr. Thomas Watschke - tlw3@psu.edu

Delaware Valley Turf Management

Dr. Doug Linde - 215-489-2260 - Douglas.Linde@delval.edu

Rhode Island

University of Rhode Island Turfgrass Program

Steven Alm - (401)874-5998 - stevealm@uri.edu
Rebecca Nelson Brown - (401)874-2755 - brownreb@uri.edu
Nathaniel Mitkowski - (401)874-5996 - mitkowski@uri.edu
Bridget Ruemmele - (401)874-7874 - bridgetr@uri.edu
W. Michael Sullivan - (401)874-4540 - wmichaelsullivan@uri.edu
Noel Jackson
Richard Hull - (401)874-5995 - rjhull@uri.edu
Raymond Taylorson - raymondtaylorson@msn.com

South Carolina

Clemson University Turfgrass

Dr. J. C. Chong - 843-662-3526 ext. 224 - juanghc@clemson.edu
Dr. Haibu Liu - 864-656-6367 - haibol@clemson.edu
Dr. Bruce Martin, Jr. - (843) 662-3526 x 234 - sbmrtn@clemson.edu
Dr. Lambert McCarty - bmccrty@clemson.edu
Dr. Dara Park - 843.319.4957 - darap@clemson.edu
Mr. Jack Whetstone

Tennessee

The University of Tennessee Turfgrass

Dr. John Sorochan - (865) 974-7420 - sorochan@utk.edu

Dr. James Brosnan -  (865) 974-8603 - jbrosnan@utk.edu

Dr. Brandon Horvath - (865) 974-2975 - bhorvath@utk.edu
Dr. Tom Samples - (865) 974-2595 - tsamples@utk.edu

Dr. Alan Windham - (615) 835-4572 - awindha1@utk.edu
Dr. Frank Hale - (615) 832-6802 - fahale@utk.edu
Adam Thoms - 865-974-7324 - athoms@utk.edu


Texas

Texas A&M University Turfgrass Program
Paul Baumann - 979.845.4880  - PBaumann@ag.tamu.edu
David Chalmers - 979.845.0603 - dchalmers@tamu.edu
James McAfee - 972.952.9220 - j-mcafee@tamu.edu
Kevin Ong - 979-845-8000 - kevo@tamu.edu
Tony Provin - 979.845.4816 - t-provin@tamu.edu
Richard Duble - 979.845.2394 - RDuble@ag.tamu.edu
Milton Engelke
Dennis Genovesi - 972.952.9640 - d-genovesi@tamu.edu
Frank Hons - 979.845.3477 - f-hons@tamu.edu
Kevin McInnes - 979.845.5986 - k-mcinnes@tamu.edu
James Reinert
Richard White -   979.845.1550 - rh-white@tamu.edu
David Zuberer - 979.845.5669 - d-zuberer@tamu.edu
Mark Hall - 979.862.4165 - mhall@ag.tamu.edu
James Thomas -  979-845-5252 -
James Beard
Bill Knoop

Texas Tech University Turfgrass

Dr. Dick Auld - (806) 742-5704 - dick.auld@ttu.edu
Dr. Jason Woodward - (806) 742-2676 - jason.woodward@ttu.edu

Virginia

Virginia Tech Turf

Dr. Erik Ervin - (540) 231-5208 - ervin@vt.edu
Dr. Mike Goatley, Jr. - (540) 231-2951 - goatley@vt.edu
Dr. Xunzhong Zhang - (540) 231-3684 - xuzhang@vt.edu
Kevin Hensler - (540) 231-9527 
Whitnee Askew - (540) 231-7624

Washington

Washington State University Turfgrass Management

Dr. William Johnston - 509-335-3620 - wjohnston@wsu.edu
Dr. Eric Miltner - 253-445-4594 - miltner@wsu.edu
Dr. Gwen Stahnke - 253-445-4513 - stahnke@wsu.edu

West Virginia

West Virginia University Turf Management
John Jett - 304/293-6131 ext. 4224 - John.Jett@mail.wvu.edu
Lewis Jett - 304/293-6131 ext. 4240 - Lewis.Jett@mail.wvu


Wisconsin

Wisconsin Turfgrass Research and Education
Dr. Jim Kerns - 608-262-6531 - jpk@plantpath.wisc.edu
Dr. Chris Williamson - 608-262-4608 - rcwillie@entomology.wisc.edu
Dr. Doug Soldat - 608-263-3631 - djsoldat@wisc.edu
Paul Koch - (608) 845-2535 - plk@plantpath.wisc.edu

 

International Resources

us

 

 

Student challenge