Toma Award

2013 George Toma "Golden Rake" Award

Pioneer Athletics Sales Manager Matt Tobin received the 2013 George Toma "Golden Rake" Award.
 The Toma is known as the “and then some” award, because this honor goes to an individual who goes above and beyond what is required to ensure their colleagues and communities are supported.

Matt has done that and more. In several particular instances, it has been noted that he listened to sports turf managers and noted their concerns about particular issues affecting their fields…coming back to let them know he had fundamentally changed items within his own organization to make their lives easier, and better. 

Matt is a board member of the New England Sports Turf Managers Association (NESTMA) as well as a member of an STMA committee. His dedication to the best interests of STMA is without question, as is his willingness to give “and then some” whenever it counts. 

Matt (right) receives his award at the 2014 STMA Awards Banquet from previous Toma award winner Michael Boettcher.

Previous George Toma "Golden Rake" Award Recipients 

2013 - Matt Tobin, Pioneer Athletics, Saco (ME)

2012 - Michael Boettcher, Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club, Milwaukee (WI)

2011 - Tom Nielsen, Louisville Bats Baseball Club, Louisville (KY)

2010 - Mel Lanford, Retired from University of Texas, Austin (TX)

2009 - Craig Potts, Texas A&M University, College Station (TX) 

2008 - David Reiss, Wasatch County School District, Heber City (UT) 

2007 - Tony Diaz, Waukegan Park District (IL) 

2006 - Todd Jeansonne, Louisiana State University and Jeff Kershaw, West Baton Rouge Parrish School 

2005 - Jim Wiggins, Tomball ISD, Tomball (TX) 

2004 - Kevin Meredith, National Soccer Hall of Fame (NY) 

2003 - James Crawford, McFarland Schools (WI) 

2002 - Jesse Cuevas, Rosenblatt Stadium (NE) 

2001 - Terry Nance, Cape Fear High School (NC) 

2000 - Connie Rudolph, CSFM, Midway Stadium (MN) 

1999 - Boyd (Rob) Montgomery, Sylvania Recreation (OH) 

1998 - Don Kelly, City of Rocky River (OH) 

1997 - Timothy Burke, Town of Bethel (CT) 

Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Roster for current listing

International Resources


Student challenge