STMA Founders Awards

Note: If October 15th falls on a weekend, the official deadline to submit is the following Monday or 1st business day of the next week.

STMA’s highest honors, the four Founders Awards, recognize those members who have made significant contributions to STMA and to the profession. Think about those who have made a difference in your career and the careers of your peers and nominate one or more for a Founders Award. For the Founder's nomination form in a Word document, click here.

View a list of all previous Founders Award Winners.


The Dick Ericson Award

Dick Ericson is one of the Founders of STMA. Besides his own sports turf management activities, he has made significant contributions to the Sports Turf Managers Association, including serving as its first President in 1981-1982. He has, and continues to have, an impact in raising the level of professionalism within the industry.

Click here to view the criteria for the Ericson Award. 

To see previous Ericson Award winners,
click here.


The George Toma Golden Rake Award

George Toma is not only one of the Founders of STMA, and one of its supporters, he has served, and continues to serve, as a mentor for many of those in the sports turf industry. He continues to emphasize the importance of the entire crew in effective sports turf management. He also has proven that starting from the ground up, it's possible to achieve your highest goals - if you love what you do and give it your all - and then some. 

Click here to view t
he criteria for the Toma Award. 

To see previous Toma Award winners, 
click here.

Dr. William H Daniel Award

Dr. William H. Daniel was not only one of the Founders of STMA and one of its supporters, he also set the pattern for educator/researcher involvement in the Association. The partnership between the educators and researchers in this industry and the sports turf managers who incorporate the knowledge, training, and research advances in practical, on-the-field applications is key to the progress that has been made, and continues to be made, in providing better and safer sports turf areas. 

Click here to view the criteria
 for the Daniel Award. 

To see previous Daniel Award winners, 
click here.


The Harry C. Gill Founders Award

Harry C. Gill was one of STMA's Founders and its second President, serving in that capacity in 1982 - 1983. His commitment to the sports turf profession and his desire and efforts to nurture the young STMA organization are legendary among those who were fortunate enough to have known him. 

Click here to view the criteria for the Gill Award. 

To see previous Gill Award winners, 
click here.

International Resources