STMA Board of Directors Formally Installed During Conference Annual Meeting

In December, the membership of the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) elected via online ballot new officers and directors, who took office during the association’s Annual Meeting on Jan. 17 in Daytona Beach, Florida. The Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with the association’s national conference, which was Jan. 15-18. President James Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D. appointed a fifth director during the annual meeting, which maintains the previous year’s total at 13 Board members.  This year’s election was particularly notable, as all election balloting was done electronically to increase voter participation. The effort was a success, as the new online format increased voting response rate by 200%

The Officers and Directors are:

President: James Mike Goatley, Ph.D., Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia
Past President: Troy Smith, CSFM, Denver Broncos Practice Facility, Englewood, Colorado
President-Elect: David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Town of Lexington, Lexington, Massachusetts
Vice President-Commercial: Rene Asprion, Diamond Pro/TXI, Dallas, Texas
Secretary/Treasurer: Allen Johnson, CSFM, Green Bay Packers, Green Bay, Wisconsin 

Director – Academic: Jeffrey Fowler, Penn State University, Franklin, Pennsylvania
Director – Schools K-12: Andrew Gossel, Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis, Indiana
Director – Commercial: James Graff, Graff’s Turf Farms, Ft. Morgan, Colorado
Director – Parks & Recreation: Debra Kneeshaw, City of Portland Parks & Recreation, Portland, Oregon
Director – Professional Facilities: Phil McQuade, Kroenke Sports Enterprises/ Colorado Rapids, Commerce City, Colorado
Director – Higher Education: Jeff Salmond, CSFM, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma
Director – At Large (Appointed): Mike Tarantino, CSFM, Poway Unified School District, Poway, California
Director – At Large (Elected): Tim VanLoo, CSFM, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

International Resources