Congratulations to Field of the Year and MiLB Winners

STMA announces its 2012 Field of the Year winners and Minor League Baseball Sports Turf Manager of the Year. 

Field of the Year

  • Schools and Parks – Don Gaebelein Field, Wesleyan School, Norcross, GA
  • College and University – TD Ameritrade Park, Omaha, NE
  • Professional – Fluor Field at the West End, Greenville Drive, Greenville, SC


  • Schools and Parks – Panther Stadium, Oregon USD, Oregon, WI
  • College and University – Jack Trice Stadium, Iowa State University, Ames, IA


  • Schools and Parks – Waukegan SportsPark Field #2, Waukegan Park Dist., Waukegan, IL
  • College and University – Gordon Field, Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY
  • Professional – Dicks Sporting Goods Park, Commerce City, CO


  • Schools and Parks – Alpenrose Stadium, Little League Softball World Series, Portland, OR
  • College and University – Tiger Park, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA

 Sporting Grounds

  • Schools and Parks - Infinity Park, City of Glendale, CO


Award winners will be presented with their awards on Fri., Jan. 18, 2013, at the STMA Awards Banquet. The banquet concludes the STMA Annual Conference and Exhibition, which starts Jan. 15 in Daytona Beach.

The STMA Field of the Year Award program began in 1992. There are five field types for which awards may be given: Baseball, Football, Soccer, Softball and Sporting Grounds. For each field type, awards may be given in three categories: Professional, College and University, and Schools and Parks. A panel of 11 judges independently scored each entry based on the playability and appearance of the playing surfaces, innovative solutions employed, effective use of budget, and the development and implementation of a comprehensive, sound agronomic program. 

Minor League Baseball
Triple A - Joey Stevenson, Indianapolis Indians
Double A - Dan Douglas, Reading Fightin Phils
A - Opie Cheek, Clearwater Threshers
Short season or Rookie - Ryan Woodley, Staten Island Yankees

STMA, in partnership with Minor League Baseball, presents these awards. The MiLB selects 16 league winners, who are invited to submit an application for this award. STMA's Awards Committee independently judges these submittals and CEO Kim Heck presents these awards to the winners during the Baseball Winter Meetings Annual Awards Luncheon.

International Resources