Innovative Award

STMA Innovative Awards Program

STMA 2014 innovative award

In 2010, STMA's Innovative Awards Task Group developed an awards program to recognize STMA commercial member companies that improve the sports turf management profession.

The Innovative Awards Program recognizes those commercial company members that have developed a product, service, equipment or technology that substantially enhances the effectiveness of the Sports Turf Manager. The innovation could also make playing surfaces safer and more playable for athletes.

As you select the product, equipment, technology, or service to enter, consider this description of "innovative":

  • is cutting edge
  • has never been seen

Any STMA Commercial member who is exhibiting at the upcoming STMA Annual Conference and Exhibition is eligible to submit one entry annually. The company must display the innovation in its booth and have introduced it for sale between the close of the current year's STMA show and the close of the following year's show. The only criteria that the innovation must meet is that is should substantially enhance the effectiveness of the sports turf manager and/or make the surfaces safer and more playable for athletes.

A panel of non-commercial STMA members representing all segments of membership will judge the entries and may give the award to multiple companies that meet the criteria.

Winner(s) will be kept confidential until announced during the first day of the STMA Trade Show.  Winner(s) will be able to use the special logo, seen above, in their promotion of the winning product, service, technology or equipment. STMA will publicize the winners through its communication vehicles, STMA press releases, signage at the conference and with special recognition during the Annual Awards Banquet.

Click here for the electronic Innovative Awards Form.

For more information about the program contact STMA at stmainfo@stma.orgSubmittals must be received electronically by Oct. 15.

Previous Innovative Award Recipients

2014 - None awarded
2013 - Green Source
2012 - G2 Turftools
2011 - Barenbrug USA
2011 - Bush Sports Turf
2011 - Sports Edge

International Resources


Student challenge