Gill Award

2013 Harry C. Gill Founders Award

STMA’s highest honor, the Harry C. Gill Award, was awarded to  Willis "Bucky" Trotter, owner of Sports Facilities Insights, LLC in Covington, KY. Unfortunately, Bucky could not attend the Awards Banquet but two members of the Kentucky chapter - Marcus Dean and Bobby Campbell - were on-hand to accept the award on his behalf. 

As part of his long history of service to the industry, Bucky has mentored an untold number of students who went on to become sports turf managers themselves. This longevity has enabled him to work in virtually every aspect of the field: he has served as head sports turf manager for several Division 1 schools, worked in professional sales, did some consulting as a sports turf management expert, spent time as a turf manger for a parks and recreation department, and even was recruited for a position in a non-profit organization assisting disadvantaged youth.

Bucky's service extends beyond the industry itself; it includes STMA. He has served on STMA’s national Board of Directors – and continues to serve as a director for his state chapter and as secretary-treasurer for the Kentucky Turfgrass Council – and has given numerous presentations at state, regional and national association events.

So for all these reasons, and more – for his nurturing of countless sports turf managers and ensuring the advancement of our association for over 30 years – STMA honors Bucky Trotter as the 2013 Harry C. Gill Founders Award Winner.

Marcus Dean (left) and Bobby Campbell (right) accept the 2013 Harry C. Gill Award from Rich Moffitt on Bucky's behalf.


Previous Harry C. Gill Founders Award Recipients

2013 - Bucky Trotter, Sports Facilities Insights (KY)

2012 - Richard Moffitt, Moffitt & Associates (MO)

2011 - Mike Andresen, CSFM, Iowa State University (IA)

2010 - Leo Goertz, Texas A&M University (TX)

2009 - Tom Burns, Diamond Pro/TXI (TX) 

2008 - Bob Campbell, CSFM, University of Tennessee (TN) 

2007 - Bob Curry, Covermaster, Inc. (Ontario, Canada) 

2006 - Boyd R. Montgomery, CSFM, The Toro Company (MN) 

2005 - Bob Christofferson, Seattle Mariners, (WA) 

2004 - Lynda Wightman, Hunter Industries (CT) 

2003 - Ken Mrock, Chicago Bears Football Club (IL) 

2002 - Ross Kurcab, CSFM, Invesco Field at Mile High (CO) 

2001 - Dan Douglas, Reading Phillies (PA) 

2000 - Mary Owen, University of Massachusetts - Extension (MA) 

1999 - *Dale Getz, University of Notre Dame (IN) 

1998 - John Souter, Turfgrass Consultant, Perthshire, Scotland 

1997 - *Eugene Mayer, The Scotts Company 

1996 - Greg Petry, Waukegan Park District (IL) 

1995 - Gil Landry, Ph.D., University of Georgia (GA) 

1994 - Henry Indyk, Ph.D., (deceased), Turfcon (NJ) 

1993 - *Mike Schiller, Schaumburg Park District (IL) 

1992 - George Toma, Kansas City Royals & NFL (MO) 

1991 - James Watson, Ph.D., The Toro Company (CO) 

1990 - *David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH) 

1989 - *David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH) 

1988 - Dale Sandin, Orange Bowl (FL) 

1987 - *Mark Hodnick, Cal Poly Pomona (CA) 

1986 - Kent W. Kurtz, Ph.D., (deceased) Cal Poly Pomona (CA) 

1985 - Anthony Burnett, RFK Stadium (DC) 

1984 - *Steve Wightman, Mile High Stadium (CO) 

1983 - William H. Daniel Ph.D., (deceased) Purdue University (IN) 

1982 - Harry C. Gill, (deceased), Milwaukee County Stadium (WI) 

Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Roster for current listing

International Resources


Student challenge