February 2013

News You Can Use

The conference is over, but you can re-live the camaraderie by viewing the photos from the conference.

STMA partnered with Peach New Media again this year to bring you recorded education sessions. Take advantage of 20 different audio recorded sessions, all for one low price of $10 if you were a 2013 conference attendee. Click purchase and select "Conference Attendee" to apply the discount. Regular prices apply to non-conference attendees. Sessions are available online only. In addition, 9 quick tips for a successful career in sports turf management were also recorded and are available for FREE!

These recordings benefit conference attendees unable to make it to concurrent sessions and sports turf managers unable to make it to the conference. The recordings are also valuable as a refresher throughout the year for sports turf managers to stay current and educated in the industry. Hurry and take advantage of this valuable education – the $10 discounted price is available to conference attendees for only 60 days!

Click here to view and purchase recorded education sessions.

Also, don't forget to visit the STMA Conference Handouts page to download and print speaker presentations and handouts from education sessions at the conference.

In December, the membership of the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) elected via online ballot new officers and directors, who took office during the association’s Annual Meeting on Jan. 17 in Daytona Beach, Florida. The Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with the association’s national conference, which was Jan. 15-18. President James Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D. appointed a fifth director during the annual meeting, which maintains the previous year’s total at 13 Board members.  This year’s election was particularly notable, as all election balloting was done electronically to increase voter participation. The effort was a success, as the new online format increased voting response rate by 200%

The Officers and Directors are:

President: James Mike Goatley, Ph.D., Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia
Past President: Troy Smith, CSFM, Denver Broncos Practice Facility, Englewood, Colorado
President-Elect: David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Town of Lexington, Lexington, Massachusetts
Vice President-Commercial: Rene Asprion, Diamond Pro/TXI, Dallas, Texas
Secretary/Treasurer: Allen Johnson, CSFM, Green Bay Packers, Green Bay, Wisconsin 

Director – Academic: Jeffrey Fowler, Penn State University, Franklin, Pennsylvania
Director – Schools K-12: Andrew Gossel, Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis, Indiana
Director – Commercial: James Graff, Graff’s Turf Farms, Ft. Morgan, Colorado
Director – Parks & Recreation: Debra Kneeshaw, City of Portland Parks & Recreation, Portland, Oregon
Director – Professional Facilities: Phil McQuade, Kroenke Sports Enterprises/ Colorado Rapids, Commerce City, Colorado
Director – Higher Education: Jeff Salmond, CSFM, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma
Director – At Large (Appointed): Mike Tarantino, CSFM, Poway Unified School District, Poway, California
Director – At Large (Elected): Tim VanLoo, CSFM, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

On Friday, Jan. 18, 2013, the most prestigious awards of the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) – the Founders Awards -- were presented to four members who embody the characteristics of STMA Founders George Toma, Harry C. Gill, Dick Ericson, and Dr. William Daniel. The four award winners were surprised with the honor during STMA's Annual Awards Banquet, the culminating event of the 24th Annual Conference and Exhibition in Daytona Beach, Florida. The award winners are Amy Fouty, CSFM (Dick Ericson Award), Michael Boettcher (George Toma Golden Rake Award), Dr. Elizabeth Guertal (Dr. William H. Daniel Award), and Rich Moffitt (Harry C. Gill Award).

STMA's 24th Annual Conference and Exhibition was held Jan. 15-18, 2013 in Daytona Beach, Florida and featured a number of milestones for the association, including a significant increase in the number of educational sessions offered as well as the wider implementation of new Web-based offerings and a nearly sold-out trade show. Approximately 981 sports turf managers converged on the Ocean Center Convention facility for more than 90 hours of sports turf specific education, dedicated networking functions and exhibitor demonstrations. Of particular note was keynote general session speaker Ian Hill, who called attendees to action with his own moving life story and generous personal contribution of $1000 to the association's charitable entity, the Foundation for Safer Athletic Fields for Everyone (SAFE). The conference trade show was one of the most well-attended in the association's history, with virtually every floor location sold for a total of 168 exhibitors and 1,600 attendees. Additionally, SAFE used its 13th Annual Golf Tournament, played at Arthur Hills Golf Course at LPGA International, Casino Night at the Welcome Reception and the live auctions, raffles and other fundraising endeavors to raise more than $35,000 for the foundation.

On Jan. 17, 2013, during the opening day of the trade show hall at STMA's 24th Annual Conference and Exhibition, STMA Commercial Director James Graff (Graff's Turf Farms) and Commercial Vice President Rene Asprion (Diamond Pro/TXI) presented the 2013 STMA Award for Commercial Innovation to Green Source, Inc. The award was for their product SideKick, an innovation judged by the STMA Awards Committee to substantially enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the sports turf manager, and make playing surfaces safer and more playable for athletes. Green Source received an award on the trade show floor, signage to be placed in their booth, and will have use of the 2013 Innovative Award logo for use with the SideKick.

Congratulations to all STMA Student Challenge participants for their exceptional performance on the 2013 exam! The Student Challenge is presented by SAFE and Founding Partner Hunter Industries. Eight two-year teams and 26 four-year teams competed for $4,000 awards in each division. Winning the two-year competition was Horry-Georgetown Technical College - Team 202. Mt. San Antonio College - Team 203 took second place and Penn State University - Team 204 took third place in the two-year division. Winning the four-year competition was University of Maryland - Team 412. Penn State University - Team 407 took second place and Virginia Tech University - Team 421 took third place in the four-year division. See the full results of the STMA Student Challenge here.

The 2-Minute Tip for Success

Did you know that 90 percent of employees believe that they have good ideas for improving the effectiveness of their organizations, but only 50 percent of them ever share these ideas with the organization?

Read here about how to facilitate upward communication at your facility.

Turf Rundown

Volunteers play an important role when it comes to caring for community sports fields and facilities. Click here for 4 simple ways to provide a positive atmosphere and optimize the time and efforts of your volunteers.

International Resources